The Mystical Medical Bonus


there are”There is no better boat than a horoscope
to help one cross over the sea of life.”
~ Sage Varahamihara

Jyotish is a sister science of Ayurveda, originating from the same great tree of Vedic knowledge. It is an ancient tradition that studies the movement of the earth, moon and planets and their influence on human life. Jyotish literally translates from Sanskrit as “the science of light.”

In Jyotish, we enter the chart through the “ascendant,” the constellation that is rising on the Eastern horizon at the time of your birth. This determines the area of the sky the planets were in, which gives the ares of your life where these energies want to play out.

After we look at the Ascendant, we look at the moon, as the moon illuminates how you think, feel, relate, reflect, remember, react, interpret and respond to day-to-day life. Jyotish refines insight into the mind by looking at Nakshatras, 13.20-degree sections of the sky that shows the light of you. It is truly fascinating and so accurate!

What is Your Nakshatra?

Reading Your Chart

The numbers above give you the Bhava, or House, number. The house number is constant and never changes – the top diamond is always the first house, and so on.

The diamonds and triangles are the Bhavas, or houses: The top diamond is the first house. Going anti-clockwise, the downward pointing triangle next to it, to the left, is the second house. Counting around, you can add in each house number until you get to the downward-pointing triangle on the upper right, the 12th house.

In your birth chart, then, the numbers you will see represent the Rashis, or constellations (signs): 1. Aries, 2. Taurus, 3. Gemini, 4. Cancer, 5. Leo, 6. Virgo, 7. Libra, 8. Scorpio, 9. Sagittarius, 10. Capricorn, 11 Aquarius, 12. Pisces

Planets give energy, signs give support, houses indicate the field of activity, or where the energy plays out.
Here’s a step-by-step guide to help you read a North Indian Jyotish chart:

1. Understanding the Layout

Basic Structure:

  • The chart is a square divided into 12 smaller squares.
  • The top center square is always the 1st House (Lagna or Ascendant).

House Numbers:

  • Houses are fixed in position, and their numbering is consistent:
    • The 1st House (Lagna) is at the top center.
    • Moving counter-clockwise, the 2nd House is to the top right, the 3rd House is the next one on the right side, and so on.
    • The 7th House is the bottom center, the 1oth House is the diamond on the right, the 12th House is to the right of the 1st.

2. Identifying the Ascendant (Lagna)

  • The Ascendant is the sign that was rising on the eastern horizon at the time of birth.
  • It is indicated by a specific number corresponding to a zodiac sign placed in the 1st House.
    • Aries (1), Taurus (2), Gemini (3), Cancer (4), Leo (5), Virgo (6), Libra (7), Scorpio (8), Sagittarius (9), Capricorn (10), Aquarius (11), Pisces (12).

3. Placement of Signs

  • Each house will have a number indicating which zodiac sign occupies that house.
  • The numbers correspond to the zodiac signs as mentioned above.
  • Which sign goes to which house, including the planets in them, all depends on what sign goes to the 1st house.
  • The Houses represent areas in the sky at the moment of your birth.
  • They also represent areas of your life, and parts of your body.

4. Placement of Planets

  • The planets are placed in the houses they occupy at the time of birth.
  • Planets are denoted by specific symbols or abbreviations:
    • Sun (Su), Moon (Mo), Mars (Ma), Mercury (Me), Jupiter (Ju), Venus (Ve), Saturn (Sa), Rahu (Ra), Ketu (Ke).

5. Understanding House Significance

  • Each house has specific areas of life it governs:
    • 1st House (Lagna): Self, personality, appearance
    • 2nd House: Wealth, family, speech
    • 3rd House: Siblings, courage, communication
    • 4th House: Mother, home, comforts
    • 5th House: Children, creativity, education
    • 6th House: Health, enemies, daily work
    • 7th House: Spouse, partnerships, marriage
    • 8th House: Longevity, inheritance, transformations
    • 9th House: Fortune, religion, higher education
    • 10th House: Career, reputation, public life
    • 11th House: Gains, friends, aspirations
    • 12th House: Losses, expenses, foreign travel

6. Interpreting the Chart

  • Examine the Ascendant: Identify the rising sign and its ruler.
  • Check Planetary Positions: Note the houses occupied by each planet and their relationships.
  • Assess Strengths and Weaknesses: Analyze planetary strengths (e.g., exaltation, debilitation) and aspects (drishti) to other houses and planets.
  • Consider Yogas: Look for special planetary combinations or yogas which have significant impacts on various aspects of life.

Example Chart Interpretation:

  1. Identify the Ascendant (Lagna): Suppose the number in the 1st House is 5, indicating Leo (Simha).
  2. Examine Planetary Positions: Let’s say the Sun (Su) is in the 10th House, Moon (Mo) in the 4th House, and Mars (Ma) in the 6th House.
  3. Interpret Each House:
    • 1st House: Leo Ascendant indicates a confident, authoritative personality.
    • 10th House: Sun in the 10th House suggests strong career prospects and public recognition.
    • 4th House: Moon in the 4th House indicates a strong connection to home and mother.
    • 6th House: Mars in the 6th House suggests a competitive nature and strong health, with strong digestion that can tend to excess fire, acid, inflammation.


Learn more about how Jyotish can amplify your life

What is Jyotish? Click to learn

Book a Consult to learn all about you!

Light on the Planets: Learn Jyotish

Thank you Laura!!! I have really felt so grounded since our session. I feel so energized just knowing how the sun and moon move above, below and through me with the signs… Wow!! I Appreciate You!!


Thank you so much bright Star! What a beautiful session and it was lovely to meet you. Such gentle energy. I will be sure to keep in touch and let you know how things unfold. 


Thank you for listening. You are the voice in me that guides my path. You show me clarity and wisdom that I miss to see. It is wonderful to be close to you.


Working through problems with Laura is refreshing. She is always grounded, present, and insightful. Her manner of communication is compassionate and from the heart. I have had much success in transforming problems into healing opportunities with her guidance.